I love this drama for all the debates it sparked between viewers, for making one think about their approaches to marriage and love, for all the shit-stirring characters, and for the ultimate question: do you have enough moral fibre? However, Show also made me frustrated as it went along, because nothing was really progressing, and many strings were just left loose in the end.

[TSKS][Temptation][018][KO_CN][(100611)18-26-53]

But really, I’d like to disclaim that much as I root for Yoo Se Young (Choi Ji Woo), it has nothing to do with her pairing with Kwon Sang Woo in Stairway to Heaven (gawd, I can’t stand that drama), so it’s atrocious for some people to assume that some of us who root for her are blinded by our love for that OTP in that drama. Also, for all the defenses I give in favor of Se Young, it doesn’t mean I’m amoral. I do not understand this logic. I root for Se Young because I see the reasonings behind her action, even though it’s not something that normal people will do. In the end, Se Young does see that her little “experiment” has hurt many people, and she is apologetic for it. Of course, many people would say that being apologetic doesn’t undo the harm done, but at least she recognizes her faults, yes?

[TSKS][Temptation][016][KO_CN][(102995)01-00-48]

I was telling a friend about the backdrop of Show, and her comment was rather interesting. With regards to the “indecent” proposal of Se Young to Chae Seok Hoon (Kwon Sang Woo), she said, “I thought [Se Young] would be thinking of it as a strict business proposal since she’s such a career minded person? If so, then I don’t see why she’s being blamed for breaking up a marriage.” In that sense, are those who immediately think Se Young is having some other intentions amoral?

[TSKS][Temptation][018][KO_CN][(045200)18-27-27]

What I don’t really like about the ending is nothing much is resolved. I think too much time was spent on the affairs of the companies, and so Kang Min Woo (Lee Jung Jin) is let off the hook again? Letting him lose Na Hong Joo (Park Ha Sun) is not too much of a punishment/warning for him to be such a shit-stirrer, though I enjoyed him being the cause of trouble fo Se Young and her company. For all the underhand methods he had on his business dealings, he was never being dealt with legally is something I cannot comprehend. I think the writer lost steam for the overall picture, while focusing too much on the love story of Se Young and Seok Hoon.

I do appreciate that the health condition of Se Young was mentioned from the very beginning, and so it’s not some “because I broke up a marriage, I’m being punished with having ovarian cancer” troupe. Using disease as some sort of a moral resolution is misleading and preachy and just plain wrong. I also like that it’s not some magic operation she went through and get cured, but rather it’s an open-ended situation.

[TSKS][Temptation][016][KO_CN][(091112)01-01-33]

I think the craziest character has got to be Min Woo’s ex-wife Han Ji Sun (Yoon Ah Jung), because whoever would risk their life to be pregnant with the ex-husband’s child again even though she’s been told she shouldn’t get pregnant again as it’ll be life threatening? I really think she loves his money and the social standing more than anything, and frankly speaking I have no idea whether she wants to get revenge on Min Woo or not, for divorcing her. And don’t even get me started on Min Woo’s mother, who embodies all the irritating traits of a typical K-drama chaebol mother-in-law, as well as the logical fallacies in her actions.

I think Show made me open my eyes to the fact that there’re many viewers out there who remain rather conservative when watching dramas (it’s exactly the same for those who express their discomfort with the huge age gap between Rain and Krytal in She’s So Loveable). Not trying to be preachy here, but I wish more people can appreciate artistic/creative work as it is, and not use what they’re comfortable with as a yardstick for the fictional characters.

[TSKS][Temptation][020][KO_CN][(110742)23-34-26]

Well anyway, do not watch this if you know you can’t stand stories about affairs/cheating spouses (even though I don’t think mentally straying is cheating, but that’s just me). You’ve been fairly warned.

