Firstly, we’d like to apologize for the sudden lack of posts this week, because kooriyuki has never had time to write during the weekdays, and sab…let’s congratulate her on a new beginning in her life! I’m not sure if she minds me sharing the news, so let’s just leave it as that =)

friends0800441

Anyway, this is one drama which I love love love these days. Show is so poignant and relatable, and it feels like the aunties in it are my Mom, Aunt, Grandma. It’s so universal the problems they faced, the friendships they share, and I think most of us wish to have a BFF like Hee-ja and Jung-ah. It’s interesting that the common marital problem these aunties faced was infidelity (except for Jung-ah it seems), although it wasn’t because of that these aunties stayed friends throughout the years. On the contrary, it drove two of them apart, but as Show progressed we understand better what transpired, and they’re back as friends.

friends0800015

I admit that Nan-hee is a difficult person to relate to, because of the tough wall she erected around herself due to the pain and wounds she carried since young. I think she gave herself alot of pressure, to be a “good” person and thus she envisioned her daughter Wan to be a “good” person she hopes to be. It’s something probably girls who’re the only child can relate to, an overbearing Mom. I disagree that Nan-hee is narcissistic; she’s misguided by her fears and irrationality. Wan became her only hope and she misunderstood that her child belongs to her. It didn’t help that she and her husband probably had zero communication since she knew he has an affair, because he could have helped her overcome the insecurity of “losing” Wan as she grew older. I can sort of understand where Nan-hee is coming from, even though I don’t agree with her, because I totally see my own Mom in her.

friends0500452

I can relate to Choong-nam better, being the only single woman in the group, she doesn’t have the burden of a marital family to carry but she did have to take care of the entire of her maternal family. I think it’s really awesome of her be the sole support of such a huge family, to the extent that her nephews felt bad for her. I like that she may be old physically, she’s retained the young soul and I love love love that she’s still harboring some daydreams about love. It’s so cute to see her fretting over messages from Sung-jae and getting jealous of his attention on Hee-ja.

friends0500014

While I think the friendship Hee-ja and Jung-ah share is awesome, I find Hee-ja a little difficult to get along with because she’s always in her own orbit. Jung-ah is big-hearted and easy going, which I think is why they get along really well. Even so, Jung-ah admits that she doesn’t want to live with Hee-ja (whom I think is way too particular with her living habits and whatnot), because while they may be BFFs, living together may produce enough conflicts to destroy the decades-old friendship altogether.

friends0500960

I’m a little sad that we don’t see more of Young Won’s life, only hearing snippets of her past. Seemingly the most flamboyant of them all, Young Won is sensitive and caring for others, making her the most popular elder among the daughters of the aunties. She’s a good listener and Aunt Agony for the young ‘uns, probably because of her vast life experience.

friends0600420

Other than stories of the older generation, I like that we’re told about the younger generation, and marital abuse is an issue that is prevalent regardless of generations. It’s heartbreaking to see Jung-ah’s eldest child suffer in silence for years before deciding enough is enough, and Young Won was the one who broke the news to Jung-ah and Seok-gyun. Seok-gyun has never been likeable, but old men of that generation are generally gruff and doesn’t show any affection. Even though he may appear be mean and shallow, he does love his family even if his way of showing it is totally wrong. I dislike the way he treats Jung-ah and I think it’s awesome of her to decide on getting a divorce. Nothing is better than living the rest of your life for yourself, when you’re old and you know your days are numbered.

friends0800015

And Wan, I like how the whole story is seemingly from her perspective, but not really so. It’s definitely difficult growing up with a difficult Mom, but she managed to be herself and despite her claims of not wanting to have anything to do with Mom’s friends, she can’t help herself and become interested in their stories (or maybe she’s been used to listening to Mom despite herself). Her love life is so tragic (ugh, that truck of doom. Must we be shown that scene so many times?) and I really hope she can fix things right with Yeon Ha!

friends0600111

It’s rare to have such an engaging drama, much less to have a main cast whose average age is more than 60. And who says only youngsters have love troubles? I like that there’s finally a drama that shows the lives of the elders and reminding us that our parents have their lives too, instead of just nagging at us. Highly recommended!

